Vote For Your Favorite Florida Architecture!

April 6, 2012.

altAs part of the celebration of its 100th Anniversary, AIA Florida has launched its “Florida Architecture: 100 Years. 100 Places” competition, which identifies 100 buildings and places across the state that represent the best in architectural achievement, ranging from the Wentworth Museum in Pensacola to the Fontainebleau Hotel in Miami. AIA Florida has asked the public to rank the nominated buildings and select the top building in Florida by voting online through April 6 at

“We are so pleased these facilities in Miami have been recognized,” said Natividad Soto, AIA, AIA Florida vice president, AIA Miami past president and spokesperson for the competition in Miami. “Over the course of the voting period, we will encourage support for these outstanding architectural landmarks by highlighting them in the community and urging our friends and neighbors to vote for them.”

The results will be announced the week of April 16, 2012.

The Miami architecturally significant buildings on the AIA Florida list are:

1111 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, Parking, designed by Herzog & DeMeuron, 2009; bank designed by Ferendino Grafton Pancoast, 1971

Albion Hotel, Miami Beach, designed by Polevitzky and Russell, 1939; renovation designed by Carlos Zapata Studio, 1997

Atlantis, Brickell Avenue, designed by Arquitectonica, 1982

Bacardi USA, Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, designed by Enrique Gutierrez, 1963; annex designed by Ignacio Cabrera-Justiz, 1974

Banco Espiritu Santo, Brickell Avenue, Miami, designed by Kohn Pederson Fox, with SB Architects and Swanke Hayden Connell Architects, 2004

Bank of America Tower, Miami, designed by I.M. Pei, 1986
Biltmore Hotel, Coral Gables, designed by Shultze and Weaver, 1926; renovation designed by Ferendino Grafton Spillis Candela and Ralph Warburton, 1980

Delano Hotel, Miami Beach, designed by Robert Swartburg, 1947; renovation designed by Philippe Stark, 1994

Fontainebleau Hotel, Miami Beach, designed by Morris Lapidus, 1953; North Wing additions by A. Herbert Mathes, 1959; Fontainebleau 2 designed by Nichols Brosch Sandoval & Associates in 1998; Fontainebleau 3 designed by Nichols Brosch Wurst & Wolfe, 2003; Fontainebleau historic renovations/ expansion, HKS (Executive Architects), NBWW, BC Architects, 2008

Freedom Tower, formerly Miami News and Metropolis Building, Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, designed by Shultze and Weaver, 1925; renovation designed by R.J. Heisenbottle Architects, 1983; renovation designed by Rodriguez and Quiroga, 2003

Ilona urban dwelling complex, Miami Beach, designed by Oppenheim Architecture + Design, 2003

Lincoln Theatre, Miami Beach, designed by Robert E. Collins and Thomas White Lamb, 1936; adaptive use and renovation designed by Gerald F. DeMarco, 1989; renovations by Kobi Karp Architecture with Shulman + Associates, design architect, 2012

Miami Times Building, Miami, designed by Alfred Browning Parker, 1959

Olympia Theatre at the Gusman Center for the Performing Arts, Miami, designed by John Eberson, 1926, renovations of the theatre designed by Morris Lapidus, 1972; further renovations designed by R.J. Heisenbottle Architects, 1989-95; and conversion of offices to residential designed by Victor Morales, 1995

Plymouth Congregational Church, Coconut Grove, designed by Clinton MacKenzie, 1916

Ralph Middleton Munroe Miami Marine Stadium, Virginia Key, designed by Pancoast Ferendino Grafton Skeels and Burnham, 1963

Scottish Rite Masonic Center, Miami, designed by Kiehnel and Elliott, 1922

SLS Hotel/Former Grossinger Beach Hotel and Ritz Plaza Hotel, Miami Beach, designed by Lawrence Murray Dixon, 1940; renovation designed by Beilinson Architect, 1990

The Sophie and Nathan Gumenick Chapel at Temple Israel of Greater Miami, designed by Kenneth Treister , 1967

U.S. Post Office D61, Miami Beach, designed by Howard I. Cheney, 1937; renovation by General Services Administration, 1977

Vagabond Hotel, Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, designed by Robert Swartburg, 1953

Vizcaya, South Miami Avenue, Miami, initiated by magnate James Deering, 1916; restoration and glass roof over courtyard, F. Burrell Hoffman, Paul Chalfin, and Wolfberg Alvarez & Partners, 1978-89; renovations designed by R.J. Heisenbottle Architects, 2002-11; skylight replacement designed by MC Harry & Associates, 2012.

Vote for your favorite buildings at or by visiting the AIA Florida website at The online voting system is searchable by building name, city, zip code or category of use. Users can simply click on the checkbox below their favorite building(s) and place(s) to cast their vote.

Florida Architechture

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.